On the workbench: Dark Ages battle debris terrain for DuxB

After months and months of playing a Dux Britannarium campaign and finally getting my warband painted, my somewhat ADD type attention turns to some Dark Ages terrain bits for the battlefield. I have your basic trees and such, so I decided to add some unique Small terrain pieces. First concept is a 6″ x 6″ battle debris terrain piece. This would probably be a minor obstacle.

I have a number of Gripping Beast Dark Ages casualties, some left over spears and bits, so let’s see how it’s shaping up. The base is MDF with a thin layer of “pink stuff” foam, then coated with spackle and sand on the edges, with a resin paste in the middle. The resin paste, which you can get at a craft store, hardens up in an irregular pattern and when painted looks very much like a muddy area. I’ve usually used it for adding wagon wheel ruts and the like to vehicle bases.

Image

Dark Ages Wagon set

I set the casualty figures into the resin paste (with white glue). Extra shields were cut from plasticard with cracked lentils for the shield bosses. I figure the flock of ravens (from Reaper miniatures) will get bent in storage, so it will be on a small base that slots into the center of the terrain piece for easier storage.

Image

Flock of Ravens

Image

View of battlefield terrain piece from above

Image
Base coated terrain

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now that it’s all set and dried I’ve base coated it and will start doing the detail work.

One Response to “On the workbench: Dark Ages battle debris terrain for DuxB”

  1. Mitch K Says:

    Lovely!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.