On the Workbench: хэви-метал! (1/48th scale KV-1 tanks)

More heavy metal for my”28mm” WW2 armor wargaming collection – a platoon of KV-1 heavy tanks. These are two different 1/48th scale model kits I got cheap on eBay. One is an old Bandai kit, the other is a newer Tamiya kit. The Tamiya kit has lots o great detail, despite the finicky tank tread bits the hull is of die-case metal and makes it feel more survivable as a game figure. I tend to mix my armor scales, with most of my heavy tanks in 1/48th scale and my Medium/Lights in 1/50th and 1/56th/. I’ve found it all looks OK as long as the same kind of tanks are kept to the same scale — so don’t mix 1/48th scale and 1/56th scale Shermans, doesn’t look good!

Let’s see how that platoon of Panzer IIIs I finished earlier fare against these beasts!

 

1/48th scale KV-1 tanks ready for service.

 

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

